Archive for May 5, 2008

Hello!

Hello, everyone!

My name is LIndi and I’ve finally mustered up the courage to start my own blog. Over many (many!) years of cooking, baking and crafting for my family, I’d like to share our favorite recipes with you, as well as my love of scrap-booking, jewellry making, card-making, knitting and crocheting. When (and if) I ever learn to upload photos, I’ll post my scrap-book pages. I’m primarily interested in putting some order into all the black and white photos I have of my relatives, and have spent hours (happy hours!) scouring stores for vintage-looking papers. It seems too much is never enough, and that goes for everything I’m involved with in my craft room!

So….there is is. My first post. If my frustration levels don’t sky-rocket trying to figure out how to manage this blog, I’ll be here for a long time to come, withlots of time to post.

After-all…in retirement…every day is Saturday!

Leave a comment »

Ice Box Cookies

Ready whenever you need cookies NOW!

1C margarine or butter-flavored shortening

1 1/2C brown sugar

2 eggs

3C flour

1/4tsp salt

1tsp baking powder

1tsp vanilla

1/2 to 3/4C chopped pecans or candied fruit (festive for Christmas!)

Beat margarine until fluffy, then beat in the brown sugar, 1 egg at a time and vanilla.

Sift together the flour, salt and baking powder.

Mix into the wet ingredients until well blended, then add nuts or candied fruit.

Place mixture onto parchment or waxed paper and roll into a log, about 2″ in diameter.

Chill at least overnight, then slice into 1/2″ slices (or smaller for crisper cookies) and bake

at 350F for 10-15 minutes. Makes 2 medium logs.

Leave a comment »

Stella’s Old Fashioned Rice Pudding

3tbsp white rice

1 quart milk

2 egg yolks

1/2C granulated sugar

pinch of salt

1C chopped raisins

2 stiffly beaten egg whites

Set oven to 275F.

Wash rice several times until the water runs clear.

Add milk and place in dutch oven, and bake for 2 hours.

Remove rice from oven.

Beat egg yolks together, adding a little hot liquid from the rice to temper it,

stirring constantly.

Add yolk mixture, sugar and raisins to the rice.

Fold in beaten egg whites.

Place in a pan of hot water, return to the oven until lightly browned on top.

Serve with warm milk and leave the day behind you!

Leave a comment »

Mrs. Latta’s Old Fashioned Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Preheat oven to 375F

1C margarine (not soft style)

1 1/2C sugar: white or brown

2 eggs

1C flour

1/2tsp each: baking powder and baking soda

1/4tsp salt

1C rolled oats (not the instant variety)

1/2C chopped pecans or walnuts

1 1/2C seedless raisins

Beat margarine until smooth, then add sugar and combine.

Beat in 1 egg at a time.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and oats.

Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.

Mix in the nuts and raisins.

Drop on ungreased baking sheet, 12 per sheet.

Bake 10 minutes until golden brown. Baking a minute or so longer

produces a crisper cookie.

Remove to cooling rack.

Makes 1 1/2 dozen.

Leave a comment »

Hello world!

Welcome to WordPress.com. This is your first post. Edit or delete it and start blogging!

Comments (1) »